Monday, July 29, 2019

Is Halal Makeup Vegan? - Es Vegano el Maquillaje Halal?

“Halal” is a term commonly used by Muslims to refer to what is “lawful” or “acceptable” with regard to religious practices. Halal products are those that do not contain haram(“prohibited”) ingredients, which include blood, alcohol, meat, or any ingredients derived from pigs or animals who were not slaughtered in the correct manner in the name of Allah.
Hundreds of thousands of animals are poisoned, blinded, and killed every year in archaic product tests for cosmetics. However, a product cannot be considered halal if it has been tested on animals.
However, not all halal makeup is vegan. Keep reading please!


For cosmetics to be considered halal, they must not be tested on animals and must be free of alcohol, animal fats, and harsh chemicals.
Many makeup products in the cosmetics industry contain pig fat or carmine (a red pigment from the crushed female cochineal insect)—including lipsticks, for example—and other haram ingredients, and most of the time, consumers are not aware of what is in the products they buy.
Cosmetics companies use animal ingredients because they’re cheap, not because they’re better than plant-based or synthetic ingredients.

Important: Not All Halal Makeup Is Vegan—Check the Ingredients

The Muslim Consumer Group contains advice and information about some beauty brands and determines whether they are halal. You should always check for non-vegan ingredients such as beeswax, keratin, and lanolin—an ingredient derived from sheep’s wool. Animal-derived ingredients like these are considered halal but are not vegan.

Unfortunately, even avid label-readers can’t always determine what they’re putting on—and in—their bodies. There are thousands of technical and patented names for ingredients, and many  known by a single name can be of animal, vegetable, or synthetic origin. If that’s not confusing enough, some companies have slyly removed the word “animal” from their labels in order to avoid turning consumers off. For example, instead of saying, “hydrolyzed animal protein,” companies may use a term like “hydrolyzed collagen.”
Check out PETA U.S.’ Beauty Without Bunnies page to see if the makeup you are using is vegan!

"Halal" es un término comúnmente utilizado por los musulmanes para referirse a lo que es "legal" o "aceptable" con respecto a las prácticas religiosas. Los productos halal son aquellos que no contienen ingredientes de haram ("prohibidos"), que incluyen sangre, alcohol, carne o cualquier ingrediente derivado de cerdos o animales que no fueron sacrificados de la manera correcta en nombre de Allah.
Cientos de miles de animales son envenenados, cegados y asesinados cada año en pruebas de productos arcaicos para cosméticos. Sin embargo, un producto no puede considerarse halal si ha sido probado en animales.
Sin embargo, no todo el maquillaje halal es vegano. Sigue leyendo para descubrir por qué ...

Para que los cosméticos se consideren halal, no deben probarse en animales y deben estar libres de alcohol, grasas animales y productos químicos nocivos.
Muchos productos de maquillaje en la industria cosmética contienen grasa de cerdo o carmín (un pigmento rojo del insecto cochinilla hembra triturado), incluidos los lápices labiales, por ejemplo, y otros ingredientes de haram, y la mayoría de las veces, los consumidores no saben qué hay en el productos que compran.
Las compañías de cosméticos usan ingredientes animales porque son baratos, no porque sean mejores que los ingredientes de origen vegetal o sintéticos.

Importante: No todo el maquillaje halal es vegano: verifique los ingredientes
El Grupo de consumidores musulmanes contiene consejos e información sobre algunas marcas de belleza y determina si son halal. Siempre debe buscar ingredientes no veganos como cera de abejas, queratina y lanolina, un ingrediente derivado de la lana de oveja. Los ingredientes derivados de animales como estos se consideran halal pero no son veganos.
Desafortunadamente, incluso los ávidos lectores de etiquetas no siempre pueden determinar lo que se están poniendo y en sus cuerpos. Existen miles de nombres técnicos y patentados para ingredientes, y muchos conocidos por un solo nombre pueden ser de origen animal, vegetal o sintético. Si eso no es lo suficientemente confuso, algunas compañías han eliminado astutamente la palabra "animal" de sus etiquetas para evitar apagar a los consumidores. Por ejemplo, en lugar de decir "proteína animal hidrolizada", las compañías pueden usar un término como "colágeno hidrolizado".

¡Visita la página de Belleza sin conejitos de PETA U.S. para ver si el maquillaje que estás usando es vegano!

Monday, July 22, 2019

The Halal consumer market today. A fast growing world trend.

The Muslim consumer market is rapidly growing in size and diversity, driven by a population that is more diverse ethnically, geographically, and economically than ever before.  Young, consumer-conscious Muslims are driving demand for halal cosmetics, with the market growing from an estimated 16 billion USD in 2015 to an expected 52 billion USD by 2025. For Muslim consumers, identifying halal cosmetic products can be very challenging, sometimes requiring a strong knowledge of cosmetic ingredients and their potential sources and manufacturing methods.
Halal means “permissible” in Arabic and applies to that which is permissible in Islamic law. Halal is typically applied to permissible food but is also considered for cosmetics, pharmaceuticals, and business practices.  For cosmetics, some products have higher priority or urgent concern. Lipstick, for example, may be unintentionally consumed while eating or drinking, so Muslim consumers may need to carefully research their lipstick of choice.  Halal consumers also seek alcohol-free perfumes, since the fragrances are inhaled (consumed) and Muslim dietary law forbids intoxicating substances. Wuzu or Wudu is the practice of ritually washing hands and face which is performed to cleanse and purify before formal prayers or handling and reading the Qur’an. In order to meet Muslim consumers’ needs, not only are halal ingredients require but they must also be washable to meet the requirements of Wudu. Cosmetics like nail polish are often designed to resist water and washing, leading to the added step of removing these cosmetics before Wudu even where halal ingredients are used. Muslim consumers therefore desire wash-off, halal nail polish so they can properly perform Wudu.
Under Islamic dietary law, halal (lawful) foods are any foods that are not haram (unlawful). Haram (forbidden) foods include carrion (animals killed other than those intentionally for human consumption), animals killed in a non-halal manner (typically inhumane manner), blood, and food dedicated to another god. Some animals such as pork, predatory mammals, reptiles, insects, and some other animals are also haram. For cosmetic ingredients, the same rules are applied and impact many common cosmetic ingredients. Because of the restrictions on different animals and the requirements for proper slaughter, ingredients derived from animals such as lecithin, glycerol, fatty acids, collagen, and products derived from them are very difficult to verify as halal unless the entire supply chain is reviewed and approved by a respected halal certifying authority.
Some coloring may be derived from insects, which are considered haram, and thus do not qualify as halal. Other ingredients or products of concern include moisturizers and skin creams if they are of dairy origin.The microorganisms used to process dairy raw material may be haram. Rennet, for example is an enzyme that is typically derived from calf stomach. If the calves were not slaughtered in accordance with halal requirements, the rennet and any products made using the rennet are then haram. Vegetable source rennet is the preferred source for verifying halal status.
Modern cosmetic ingredients present many challenges for halal verification. As stated, microorganism or animal-derived enzymes require verification they are from a halal source. Similarly genetically modified organisms (GMO) must be from wholly halal sources.  If any of the genetic material used in GMO is from a haram source, the genetically modified organism is also considered haram. Some common GMO derived cosmetic ingredients include starches, oils, and many other agriculturally derived botanical ingredients. Unless the origin of the genetic material is known and confirmed as halal, the products derived from the genetically modified organisms may be haram.
Modern biotechnology leads to other challenges for halal consumers. Stems cells may be used in anti-aging creams or related products. Like genetically modified products, the source of the stem cells could be haram.  Although stems cells could be of botanical origin, halal certifiers may reject stem cells in cosmetics as haram unless full, traceable documentation is available to demonstrate they are of halal origin. This is typically provided by a halal certificate from the ingredient supplier.
With all the complexities of cosmetic ingredient supply and origin, many Muslim consumers seek only those products that are certified halal by a reputable authority. Similarly, for the cosmetic manufacturer it may seem a daunting task to determine which ingredients meet halal consumers’ needs.  Fortunately reputable halal certifying authorities employ food scientists, religious scholars and other experts to navigate and interpret the impact of ancient texts on modern science and products.  Manufacturers can be confident that ingredients certified by halal authorities, such as IFANCA (the Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America), HFCE (the Halal Food Council of Europe), or Halal Control meet halal requirements. Where certified ingredients are not available, statements from suppliers can help confirm the ingredients are halal. Such statements or questionnaires should include information on not only the raw materials used, but also solvents, microorganisms and enzymes, genetic origin of GM products as well as cleaning procedures and cleaning agents.

Monday, July 15, 2019

Mai's Organic Body Butter coming August 31, 2019 - La manteca corporal orgánica de Mai llegará el 31 de agosto de 2019

Dear Customers,

We have heard your suggestions and complaints of Mai's Whipped Body Butter since the spring. One of our ingredients the tumeric organic powder has stained some of our customers clothes. Though when we created and tested it with a very low amount of tumeric organic powder in the product, we regret our mistake. We have also have discontinued the whipping of the product. For these missteps we apologize. We have replaced the tumeric with organic aloe vera powder and are releasing it as Mai's Organic Body Butter on August 31, 2019 online and at Clifton Natural Foods Store off Ludlow Avenue for those of our customers in the Cincinnati area. We look forward to the release and know you will love this product.

Muhammad Bey
Abie's Naturals

Customer Service 10 am - 6 pm Mon - Fri (EST)
Abie's Naturals

Toll Free 1 (844) 244-7744

Queridos clientes,

Hemos escuchado sus sugerencias y quejas sobre la manteca corporal batida de Mai desde la primavera. Uno de nuestros ingredientes, el polvo orgánico de cúrcuma, ha manchado algunas de las ropas de nuestros clientes. Aunque cuando lo creamos y probamos con una cantidad muy baja de polvo orgánico de cúrcuma en el producto, lamentamos nuestro error. También hemos suspendido el azote del producto. Por estos errores nos disculpamos. Hemos reemplazado la cúrcuma con polvo orgánico de aloe vera y la estamos lanzando como Manteca Orgánica Corporal de Mai el 31 de agosto de 2019 en línea y en Clifton Natural Foods Store en Ludlow Avenue para aquellos de nuestros clientes en el área de Cincinnati. Esperamos el lanzamiento y sabemos que le encantará este producto.

Muhammad Bey
Abie's Naturals

Servicio al cliente de 10 am a 6 pm de lunes a viernes (EST)
Abie's Naturals
Línea gratuita 1 (844) 244-7744

Shea Butter Facts and differences between Ivory (white) and Yellow. - Hechos de manteca de karité y diferencias entre marfil (blanco) y amarillo.

Shea Butter Facts and differences between Ivory (white) and Yellow

Shea Butter or Vitellaria paradoxa (formerly Butyrospermum parkii), commonly known as shea tree, shi tree, or vitellaria is a tree of the Sapotaceae family. It is the only species in genus Vitellaria, and is indigenous to the continent of Africa. The shea fruit consists of a thin, tart, nutritious pulp that surrounds an oil-rich seed from which the shea butter is extracted.

Lately, there’s been a lot of buzz over whether or not Yellow Shea Butter is the real deal.  So what’s the difference? Though both butters come from the seed of the Karite Tree, a root from another magnificent African tree, the Borututu Tree, is added during the milling process of the Yellow Shea Butter. This natural wonder, found deep in the jungles of Africa, is reknown for its cleansing and detoxifying properties.

The shea tree is a traditional African food plant. It has many nutritional benefits. The fruit resembles a large plum and takes approximately 4 to 6 months to ripen. The tree starts bearing when it is 10 to 15 years of age, and full production starts between 20 and 30 years of age. It then produces nuts on average for about 200 years.

Shea butter is composed of five (5) fatty acids. Palmitic, stearic, oleic, linoleic, and arachidic. Roughly 85 to 90 percent of the fatty acid stearic and oleic content. The stearic acid gives it a solid consistency, which the oleic acid influences how soft or hard the shea butter is, depending on ambient (surrounding area or environment) temperature. The shea tree grows naturally in the wild in the dry savannah belt of West Africa from Senegal in the west to the Sudan in the east. This area covers twenty-one (21) countries that Shea butter occurs on the continent of Africa.

Hechos de manteca de karité y diferencias entre marfil (blanco) y amarillo.

La manteca de karité o Vitellaria paradoxa (anteriormente Butyrospermum parkii), comúnmente conocida como árbol de karité, árbol de shi o vitellaria, es un árbol de la familia Sapotaceae. Es la única especie en el género Vitellaria y es originaria del continente africano. La fruta de karité consiste en una pulpa fina, ácida y nutritiva que rodea una semilla rica en aceite de la cual se extrae la manteca de karité.

Últimamente, ha habido un gran revuelo sobre si Yellow Shea Butter es o no el verdadero negocio. Entonces, ¿cuál es la diferencia? Aunque ambas mantequillas provienen de la semilla del árbol Karite, se agrega una raíz de otro magnífico árbol africano, el Árbol Borututu, durante el proceso de molienda de la manteca de karité amarilla. Esta maravilla natural, que se encuentra en las selvas de África, es conocida por sus propiedades de limpieza y desintoxicación.

El árbol de karité es una planta de comida tradicional africana. Tiene muchos beneficios nutricionales. La fruta se parece a una ciruela grande y tarda aproximadamente de 4 a 6 meses en madurar. El árbol comienza a funcionar cuando tiene entre 10 y 15 años de edad, y la producción total comienza entre los 20 y 30 años de edad. A continuación, produce nueces en promedio durante unos 200 años.

La manteca de karité se compone de cinco (5) ácidos grasos. Palmítico, esteárico, oleico, linoleico y araquídico. Aproximadamente 85 a 90 por ciento del contenido esteárico y oleico de ácidos grasos. El ácido esteárico le da una consistencia sólida, en la cual el ácido oleico influye en la suavidad o la dureza de la manteca de karité, según la temperatura ambiente (área circundante o ambiente). El árbol de karité crece naturalmente en el medio silvestre en el cinturón de sabana seca de África occidental desde Senegal en el oeste hasta Sudán en el este. Esta área cubre veintiún (21) países donde la manteca de karité se produce en el continente africano.