Monday, July 29, 2019

Is Halal Makeup Vegan? - Es Vegano el Maquillaje Halal?

“Halal” is a term commonly used by Muslims to refer to what is “lawful” or “acceptable” with regard to religious practices. Halal products are those that do not contain haram(“prohibited”) ingredients, which include blood, alcohol, meat, or any ingredients derived from pigs or animals who were not slaughtered in the correct manner in the name of Allah.
Hundreds of thousands of animals are poisoned, blinded, and killed every year in archaic product tests for cosmetics. However, a product cannot be considered halal if it has been tested on animals.
However, not all halal makeup is vegan. Keep reading please!

HALAL MAKEUP

For cosmetics to be considered halal, they must not be tested on animals and must be free of alcohol, animal fats, and harsh chemicals.
Many makeup products in the cosmetics industry contain pig fat or carmine (a red pigment from the crushed female cochineal insect)—including lipsticks, for example—and other haram ingredients, and most of the time, consumers are not aware of what is in the products they buy.
Cosmetics companies use animal ingredients because they’re cheap, not because they’re better than plant-based or synthetic ingredients.

Important: Not All Halal Makeup Is Vegan—Check the Ingredients

The Muslim Consumer Group contains advice and information about some beauty brands and determines whether they are halal. You should always check for non-vegan ingredients such as beeswax, keratin, and lanolin—an ingredient derived from sheep’s wool. Animal-derived ingredients like these are considered halal but are not vegan.

Unfortunately, even avid label-readers can’t always determine what they’re putting on—and in—their bodies. There are thousands of technical and patented names for ingredients, and many  known by a single name can be of animal, vegetable, or synthetic origin. If that’s not confusing enough, some companies have slyly removed the word “animal” from their labels in order to avoid turning consumers off. For example, instead of saying, “hydrolyzed animal protein,” companies may use a term like “hydrolyzed collagen.”
Check out PETA U.S.’ Beauty Without Bunnies page to see if the makeup you are using is vegan!

"Halal" es un término comúnmente utilizado por los musulmanes para referirse a lo que es "legal" o "aceptable" con respecto a las prácticas religiosas. Los productos halal son aquellos que no contienen ingredientes de haram ("prohibidos"), que incluyen sangre, alcohol, carne o cualquier ingrediente derivado de cerdos o animales que no fueron sacrificados de la manera correcta en nombre de Allah.
Cientos de miles de animales son envenenados, cegados y asesinados cada año en pruebas de productos arcaicos para cosméticos. Sin embargo, un producto no puede considerarse halal si ha sido probado en animales.
Sin embargo, no todo el maquillaje halal es vegano. Sigue leyendo para descubrir por qué ...

MAQUILLAJE HALAL
Para que los cosméticos se consideren halal, no deben probarse en animales y deben estar libres de alcohol, grasas animales y productos químicos nocivos.
Muchos productos de maquillaje en la industria cosmética contienen grasa de cerdo o carmín (un pigmento rojo del insecto cochinilla hembra triturado), incluidos los lápices labiales, por ejemplo, y otros ingredientes de haram, y la mayoría de las veces, los consumidores no saben qué hay en el productos que compran.
Las compañías de cosméticos usan ingredientes animales porque son baratos, no porque sean mejores que los ingredientes de origen vegetal o sintéticos.

Importante: No todo el maquillaje halal es vegano: verifique los ingredientes
El Grupo de consumidores musulmanes contiene consejos e información sobre algunas marcas de belleza y determina si son halal. Siempre debe buscar ingredientes no veganos como cera de abejas, queratina y lanolina, un ingrediente derivado de la lana de oveja. Los ingredientes derivados de animales como estos se consideran halal pero no son veganos.
Desafortunadamente, incluso los ávidos lectores de etiquetas no siempre pueden determinar lo que se están poniendo y en sus cuerpos. Existen miles de nombres técnicos y patentados para ingredientes, y muchos conocidos por un solo nombre pueden ser de origen animal, vegetal o sintético. Si eso no es lo suficientemente confuso, algunas compañías han eliminado astutamente la palabra "animal" de sus etiquetas para evitar apagar a los consumidores. Por ejemplo, en lugar de decir "proteína animal hidrolizada", las compañías pueden usar un término como "colágeno hidrolizado".

¡Visita la página de Belleza sin conejitos de PETA U.S. para ver si el maquillaje que estás usando es vegano!

















No comments:

Post a Comment